

2021 TCRMF Safety Awards

Each year the Fund presents Safety Awards to members who have shown great results in reducing and controlling Liability, Automobile, and Workers' Compensation Claims. The awards are determined by calculating ratios that reflect actual claims experience over a four-year period. The calculations involve actual member payroll, net operating expenditures, and number of vehicles compared to actual claims experience.

There are four types of awards. *Liability awards* include claim results in the general liability, professional liability, and errors & omissions coverages as a rate per \$1,000 of net operating expenditures. The *Automobile Liability award* includes liability and physical damage claims for each member's fleet of vehicles. The *Workers' Compensation awards* determine the loss rate per \$100 of payroll for each member.

There is one winner for the Fleet award and three winners in Liability and Workers' Compensation based on small, medium, and large centers determined by net operating expenditures. The overall best record in all three categories determines the winner of the **Betty Hardwick Excellence in Risk Management award**. In 2001 the Fund decided to recognize Betty Hardwick by naming the Excellence in Risk Management Award after her:

"This award is established in loving and respectful memory of Betty Hardwick, whom we lost this past year. Mrs. Hardwick always evangelized the virtues of a safe workplace, good risk management practices, and delivery of quality services in community MHMR center operations. She would be most proud of this and all future recipients of this award." (2001 TCRMF Annual Report)

The Fund started operations in 1988 during a time when very few insurance companies were offering coverage for community centers. Formation of a self-insurance Trust was chosen as a way to take control of the insurance problem. Two other founding members and important leaders in the Fund were also recognized in 2008 by the naming of Liability and Workers' Compensation awards. The *Dick DeSanto Excellence in Liability Loss Prevention award* was established in recognition of his founding role and service as Advisory Committee Chair from 1988 to 2002. The *William E. Hall Excellence in Workers' Compensation Loss Prevention award* was established in recognition of his founding role as Trustee from 1988 to 2005 and as Board Chair from 1997 to 2005. All three of these leaders were strong proponents of the Fund and its foundation in effective safety and risk management measures for all its members.

The Fund is proud to recognize the following winners of its annual Safety Awards presented at the Texas Council Conference in June of 2022:

Size	2020/21 TCRMF Safety Award Winners General Liability	Center
omell	Diek DeSente Eveellenge in Lightlity Leas Proyentian	Center for Life
small mid-size	Dick DeSanto Excellence in Liability Loss Prevention Dick DeSanto Excellence in Liability Loss Prevention	Resources Heart of Texas
large	Outstanding Achievement in Liability Loss Prevention	Burke
	Automobile Liability	
	Outstanding Achievement in Vehicle Fleet Safety	ACCESS
	Workers' Compensation	l
	Outstanding Achievement in Workers' Compensation Loss	
small	Prevention	Central Plains
mid-size	Outstanding Achievement in Workers' Compensation Loss Prevention	Camino Real
	William E. Hall Excellence in Workers' Compensation Loss	
large	Prevention	Spindletop
	Betty Hardwick Overall Excellence in Risk Management	Texoma